What Binds Us is Stronger


How can our hearts not cry, to a point where the tears run dry?
For they all witnessed, the worst of all crimes….
Muslim genocide in Burma, in Palestine.
Or take the Peshawar Massacre in Pakistan…
Uniform clad little flowers, trampled before they could blossom.
My ears can still hear them scream
Heart, grieving over our broken dream.
That’s the kind of nation I am a part of!
That’s the kind of nation…….
So often I asked myself, why?
Why only Muslims on the suffering side?
Here, lemme quote whats written in the Qur’an
The answer is in Surah Aal e Imran
وَاعْتَصِمُوا بِحَبْلِ اللَّهِ جَمِيعًا وَلَا تَفَرَّقُوا
“And hold firmly onto the rope of Allah and do not be divided….”
the Irony…..
We forgot our legacy, our enemies remember.
We fell apart, they came close together.
My dear listeners, my brothers and sisters
Can we agree on one thing today?
That divided we’ll fall, so united we’ll always stay…
For there is hurt, here,
That cannot be fixed with painkillers or poetry
And no matter how wide we stretch our hands,
alone, we can’t hold all the pain we want to heal.
And in the end, we’ll harvest whatever we sow.
So united we must stand and united we must bow.
For what binds us is stronger than what divides us.
Show me you agree; show me you’re proud to be one Islamic family.
Hold each other’s hand, raise ‘em in the air
Show me you understand, lemme see that you care.
So you see, together is where we all belong
For what binds us together is stronger than strong.

P.S: My Spoken word poem for SIST2015 that won me 3rd prize 🙂 Alhamdulillah!
editing courtesy:Max Risky
Inspiration: Sarah Kay

Wanna add something?

