Diary entry 65


Dear diary,
My uni has been repainted,there are some new benches to sit and take in the natural beauty. Fresh flowers and beauteous sky with clouds masking the sun. Its exquisite, off course for those who love nature. I’ve tried to  snap some pictures but those pictures never come right. So,I guess I’ll just have to memorize the mesmerizing sunsets and the Mountains of Murree that I see everyday from my room window.
My university is beautiful,there’s no doubt about that, and I’m totally in love with it! But there is something that makes my heart ache. As I was walking from Cafeteria towards my hostel block, I saw litter all over the place marring the beauty of the place. And I remembered the time when I was a school-going. There was a teacher in my van,who once (kinda)scolded a child for throwing pieces of paper on the road from moving van. I won’t say that I haven’t done that as a child myself. But the point is, that day when she said that how bad of us that we make our own city and country dirty. Who would clean our city if we don’t take that responsibility?
That was the turning point for me. And then there came a time when I was the senior most student in my van.When I was in college, I was the one carrying on that one good thing I learned in the past. All the children used to make tease me by saying “Baji’s bag is a dust bin”,because I used to put all the wrappers and junk in my bag to throw in a trash bin later. And I didn’t let anyone else throw the litter on roads and streets. I would take it and put in my bag. Yes I occasionally had to listen to their funny remarks, but I didn’t care in the least. Because if that’s what I had to listen to,in order to do the right thing,exactly that I heard and with patience too.
It breaks my heart to see such grown ups, carelessly throwing litter wherever they go and sit. If you ask me, it’s not the duty of sweepers alone to take care of our mess. How are we ever going to get responsible if we don’t take care of our own actions?
I’m still unable to get the scene out of my head. I better go before it gets way over my head.

Hope to see you soon
Adios

Wanna add something?

