You never know how things would turn


Today proved to be a longer day than I actually anticipated.Had a class at 08:30 and the teacher didn’t show so I spent my time doing the assignment that was due today and I was neglecting it from past whole week.I still had some time left until the next class so I started playing a game on my cell.Thats how pass my time mostly-playing games,reading e-books or the actual paper and cover kind of books or thinking about stupid ideas . . . . of course the list goes on.Teacher came at 10:00 and my 2nd class(according to timetable)started.After one and a half hour of introduction of law class,my stomach was growling.the teacher was taking attendance and I was trying to decide what would I eat when I finally go free when our CR entered the class and announced:

“It’s a message from head of department that at 11:30,you all have to assemble and head to the auditorium for a seminar.Its compulsory and your attendance would be marked.”

Aww,c’mon!I haven’t eaten anything in-lets say AGES!

(Yeah,I went with an empty stomach today-so my protest was my right)

Anyway,I want to the auditorium and found myself a place.When the seminar started,the organizer came and you know what was her sentence was-thank you for accepting our invitation-REALLY!!!

No,I wasn’t furious of course.I love to attend seminars,though not on an empty stomach.

The topic of discussion was Pakistan today:challenges and responsibilities-hmmm,political aura-not something I have a liking for-but I kept sitting there anyway.Then I saw my university’s vice president and I knew that no matter how the other speakers do-this man’s going to make it a good experience and a memorable one.And I was right.The man certainly knows how to speak and win hearts!

While recounting from 70’s he said he met someone while visiting abroad.He  had two opinions about Pakistan’s future.The pessimistic one was that Pakistan would be worse and his optimism said that it would remain as bad as it was then.

Then he talked about the whole non-Muslim world talking that the biggest hindrance in Pakistan’s  development is Islam.He raised the question-Is our government really Islamic?Was it ever really Islamic?He took names of all the past rulers and the  facts were put open before our eyes-Wow,I never thought like that before.

The other thing the foreign media worries about is that Pakistanis don’t have their identities(I’m still confused about what type of identities).Who cares?A jobless old man would have the least care about his identity and for him the pressing issue would be how to get the food for the next time he’s hungry……..

The guest speaker gave an impressive talk too.His first action was objection of the topic itself.He said that instead of opportunities,we focus on seeing them as challenges.We need to change the way of our thinking.We have a lot of positives in us.Pakistan has the largest number of youth-and its a great blessing.Only if we learn how to direct their energies for a better cause . . . . .

We can’t say anything likewise about our rulers but the society of Pakistan has shown its strength from time to time.Look back to the time of earth quake of 2005 or the flood of 2010.We are that nation who has given space to our 1.7 million or more Afghan refugee brothers and we not only welcomed them but helped them mix in us so that we no longer feel like two different nations but one.We are flexible and a brave nation.The problem is our unending slumber.

We see what we want to see-this is one trick our mind plays with us.Which takes me back to the point from where I stated-A change of the way we perceive things!

Every person in the discussion panel gave excellent eye-opening points-in short they made it enjoyable,sometimes cracking jokes related to their point-I enjoyed the sitting fully.

At 02:00 I finally left auditorium and went to check if there was a slightest chance that my teacher was in class-SHE WAS!!!

*frown*

Humph,Just my luck!

So I had to take in half hour of something alien because I just there and heard her voice staring blankly at her face.I still have no idea what she taught.While trying to write what she said,words kept on skipping my mind.Yeah I’m still trying to figure out what actually happened to me then.

Finally at 02:30 I came back to my room and now here I am,just finishing up an account of my day.

 

Wanna add something?

