. . . . but whose suffering is it?


It isn’t my secret to hide or to disclose.I thought I’d never see her again-ever.But when exactly did the life ever go the way you expect it to?

Fear didn’t leave me for the whole night.Ghosts and demons of doubt and worry never left my side for even a moment.What was happening,and why?She was a very good friend.In fact one who was close to my heart.We grew up together and shared most of our secrets and little fears of childhood.We studied and stayed in hostel together.I’ve always known her to have a strong sense of right and wrong.She loved her family and me-as I her.

My heart still refuses to accept that SHE of all people could do this,no matter what the circumstances.

Leaving her home and beloved family,without even a word and not a penny on her-that certainly wasn’t the most brilliant idea that ever crossed her mind.I know I could be a pigheaded person sometimes and if anyone had the potential to do it,it was me.But I know even if I have the potential to do it,I would never betray my family like this-I would never cower-I would never leave the battlefield without giving it my best.Its not in me to give up so easily because I’m a warrior inside.While she left without a backward glance-as if she planned never to return.Now that I look on the matter again,I realise how difficult it is on children when their parents fight in front of them in their every waking moment.

Thanks to Allah she is back safe and sound but the scars of wounds that rendered her depression and made her take such big step would never cease to exist.

She suffered everyday and so did her siblings and her mother’s family and her father’s family.But who was responsible for all this and when was it going to end?

People,your family is like a chain,each member its one link.intact though it may seem but there is always a place of attachment that is weaker than the other parts of each link-and its that weaker part that determines how intact you are and how many deathblows you can endure.Save it before its too late for you!

As for her story-I guess,whose suffering it was,we’ll never know!

Wanna add something?

